SL-099 Release date:
January 14, 2022

foxtails - fawn

This is a pre-order item:

This and any other item(s) in your cart are expected to ship by July 15, 2022.


*PLEASE NOTE: The vinyl is a pre-order item. This and any other item(s) in your cart will not ship immediately. Estimated shipping dates are below -

- Vinyl LPs are estimated to ship on July 15, 2022 due to supply shortages and shipping delays caused by the pandemic. Tapes and CDs are shipping now. Thanks for your patience!

* Purchase includes instant full album download.

foxtails is a self-proclaimed “bunch of fucked-up kids” from Connecticut. Over the last several years, the band’s sound has evolved to encompass everything from gentle and jazzy guitar interludes to instrumental pummeling and nihilistic shrieking in the best screamo tradition, but the core of their sound has always been in confessional, cathartic, confrontational post-hardcore. Making the personal political and vice versa has been a rallying cry for emo since the first whispers of Washington, D.C.’s Revolution Summer, but foxtails has found a way to merge the two in its own pained, forthright, and shockingly vulnerable way since 2014.

foxtails originally formed in the hallways of a Connecticut magnet school for the arts. Drummer Michael Larocca and vocalist Megan Cadena-Fernandez were little more than 15 years old, while guitarist Jon Benham was a relatively stately 17. The core of foxtails’ musical identity lies in the symbiotic relationship between Benham’s guitar work and Cadena-Fernandez’s vocals. Cadena-Fernandez’s gentle crooning and diaristic lyrical impulses meld perfectly with the lilting fluidity of Benham’s jazz-influenced noodling, but both are capable of turning on a dime and evincing a deeply distorted holy racket; Cadena-Fernandez’s screams are as monumental and solid as a brick wall, while Benham’s guitar work rarely sacrifices its melodic ingenuity even at its most feedback-drenched and spastic. With their latest addition in violinist Jared Schmidt, who joined in January 2021, the band will look to keep pushing musical boundaries for many years to come.

Cadena-Fernandez took over on bass in time for foxtails’ breakthrough 2017 LP,III. The album saw the band gelling into a cohesive and powerful three-piece, producing some of their most concise and direct statements of purpose yet alongside lengthy, sprawling pieces that betray the band’s sonic ambitions and eyes-to-the-sky dreaminess.IIIwas followed up the next year by a characteristically off-kilter, eerily aggressive, and aggressively eerie split with the delightfully catchy and chaotic UK screamo outfit Algae Bloom, and in 2019 by yet another artistic watershed for the band,Querida Hija.

OnQuerida Hija, foxtails delivered yet another stunning and idiosyncratic step forward. Though the band had always worn its leftist political affiliations on its sleeve, the lyrics onQuerida Hijaare both some of Cadena-Fernandez’s most brash and most achingly vulnerable yet, a particular accomplishment in a field of music most known for brash vulnerability.Querida Hijafeels like a clarion call from the marginalized underbelly of America, an atmospheric yet defiantly furious demand for liberation and the right to self-determination for people of color, the LGBT community, and the working class; it’s all delivered through an album colored by violence sonically as much as it is lyrically, though the band’s core DNA of gorgeous melodies shines through unabated.

foxtails are a band that makes the hair on the back of one’s neck stand at attention, a Mobius strip of clean and dirty that cycles through musical modes as naturalistically and adroitly as the songs flow through different emotional states. foxtails are like water: placid or running softly, beautiful beneath the glow of the moonlight, until it hits a sheer cliff. The drop off the waterfall might kill you, but it’s exhilarating and joyful nonetheless.

fawn was mixed by Steve Roche (Saetia, Off Minor) at Permanent Hearing Damage studio. Influenced by everything from free jazz to folk to latin to math rock, foxtails blends their unique combination of musical and cultural backgrounds in order to create an album that can be best described as the sound of catharsis. Both confessional and cryptic in nature, vocalist Megan Cadena-Fernandez’s piercing screams detail their own struggles with identity, trauma, substance abuse, and emotional growth in a way that feels entirely intimate.

European customers can purchase the album here.

What the press is saying:

"foxtails have always stood out from the pack, and with fawn, they've made an album that not only stands out, it pushes the genre to new heights." - Brooklyn Vegan

"elements of post-rock, screamo, post-hardcore, math rock and jazz (blended) to devastating effect, exorcising trauma via their fearless songwriting and instrumentation." - Paste Magazine

"a climactic, string-laden sound that puts them more in the lineage of bands like Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Dirty Three than of Ebullition Records-style screamo" - Brooklyn Vegan

"a blistering magnum opus" - Narc Magazine

"...a tingly, powerful piece of music" - Stereogum

Track Listing: 

1. ego death 
2. star-crossed 
3. ataque de nervios
4. gazelle 
5. bbq 
6. gallons of spiders went flying thru the stratosphere
7. so it goes 
8. space orphan
9. life is a death scene, princess
10. catalyst
11. la belle indifférence 
12. paper tiger

Pressing info:

Vinyl -

Limited edition vinyl LP housed in a full color jacket. Includes lyric insert.

200 Crystal Clear with Transparent Red and Black Splatter (SOLD OUT)
300 Transparent Violet

Cassette - 

Pro-dubbed with 3 panel j-card housed in a clear cassette case. 

/200 Clear

*Images shown above are mockups - due to the delicate nature of vinyl manufacturing, the actual outcome of each variant may vary.